Manu Sina squad announced for the Oceania Womens Pacific Champs

Manu Sina in action. Photo: World Rugby

APIA, SAMOA – FRIDAY 02 NOVEMBER 2018: The Samoa Rugby Union today announced the Manu Sina squad for the Oceania Women’s Pacific Championship later this month.

The side features 23 players who will be making their International debut. The expanded inaugural tournament will provide much needed annual test fixtures for Women’s teams in the Pacific region.

According to the SRU, “The net has been cast far and wide in a quest to find the strongest team Samoa can possibly field from those that made themselves available for selection. The squad contains a large number of provincial players selected from New Zealand’s Farah Palmer Cup and Australia’s Super W rugby competitions. The team also features former and current rugby league Kiwi Ferns players that have changed their allegiance to Samoa in the Union code.

“Having been absent from the 15’s scene for a period of time, Manu Sina are under no illusion that this will be a big challenge.

“The team will be putting their best foot forward to put runs on the board in what is an exciting time for Women wanting to play test rugby for our nation.”

The tournament kick-offs 16 November with Samoa playing PNG in their first match.

Aiesha Smalley – Magiagi, Vaigaga – NZ Warriors, Auckland
Alafou Fatu – Sataoa, Safata, Vaisala – Parramatta Two Blues NSW
Billy-Jean Tuavale Ale – Magiagi – Eden Rugby, Auckland
Brittany Le’aua’nae – Faatoia, Lepea, Tuana’i – Sydney University NSW
Brooke Tauaneai – Saleilua & Leulumoega – Avalon, Wellington
Cynthia Apineru – Vaipuna, Leauva’a – College Rifles, Auckland
Inga Timani – Sapapalii, Nofoalii – Glenfield, North Harbour
Jacqui Aiono – Falelima, Fasito’o Uta – Marist, Auckland
Jennifer Simati – Fasito’o Uta, Fatausi – Marist Napier Tech Hawkes Bay
Josephine Falesita – Sato’alepai, Saipipi – Parramatta Two Blues, NSW
Lorina Papalii – Luatuanu’u, Fasito’o – NZ Warriors, Auckland
Luisa Gago – Avao, Fagaloa – Manurewa, Counties Manukau
Lumepa Maiava – Falelima, Gataivai – Manukau, Auckland
Marilyn Live – Matautu Lefaga, Gautavai – Kia Toa, Manuwatu
Mary-Lee Sa’u – Vaimoso, Gagaifo, Apolima, Leulumoega – Petone, Wellington
Moega Wright – Leauva’a – GPS Rugby, Queensland
Nina Foaese – Vailoa, Faleata – Norths, Wellington
Osooso Feaunati – Faasito’o Uta – Norths, Wellington
Rita Tau – Leauva’a – College Rifles, Auckland
Ruth Vae – Vaiusu, Vaigaga, Saleimoa, Faleasiu, Fusi Suburbs – Auckland
Sieni Mose – Fagali’I, Solosolo, Vaiala, Saleimoa – Petone, Wellington
Sieni Tusi Misi – Vailoa, Palauli – College Rifles, Auckland
Sui Pauaraisa – Foailalo – Christchurch RFC, Canterbury
Taylah Hodson-Tomokino – Saina, Tuana’i, Tafatafa – University, Auckland
Tuiala To’o – Ulutogia, Aleipata Fusi, Saolufata, Falealupo – College Rifles, Auckland
Viviena Hingano – Apia, Uluili’i – Manly Mermaids, NSW
Non Traveling Reserve
Hayley Pilato – Saleimoa, Vavau Lotofaga – Manurewa, Counties Manukau

Head Coach: Ramsey Tomokino
Asst. Coach: Kolose Feaunati
Asst. Coach: Cynthia Ta’ala-Timaloa
Physio: Muliagatele Ala Leavasa
Physio: Alena Lawena (Fiji Based)
Manager: Taunu’u Nick Bakulich